Oliveira loses lightweight title after failing to make weight

6 May 2022
A+
A-

The drama began with Oliveira losing 0.5kg during her first weigh-in, which came as a surprise given the Brazilian shared. social media That his weight was in place on Friday morning. “Do Bronx” then took an extra hour to lose weight, but once again came half a kilo to the championship weight. As a result, Oliveira was stripped of the title and only Gaethje could leave as champion on Saturday night.

Fortunately, the joint main event did not suffer any problems. rose namajunas jeopardizes his strawweight belt against former champion carla esparzaRetaining the “Thug Rose” win in 2014. The rest of the card made weights except normal dumontwho came in at 0.5 pounds above the featherweight limit and was fined 30% of his wallet as a result.

Showcasing many talents throughout her career, Oliveira (32-8, 1 NC) has apparently put it all together after many career failures, but losing weight is still an issue. “Do Bronx”‘s impressive winning streak currently dates back to 2018. After winning the vacant title after taking the comeback TKO victory Michael ChandlerThe Brazilian watched from behind with a naked sultry submission Dustin Poirier in his last fight. The disillusioned ex-champion officially weighed 155.5kg and would still be vacant if his hand was raised on Saturday night.

The impressive streak of Gaethje, a former interim champion, Khabib Nurmagomedov in 2020. Since then, “The Highlight” has lived up to its nickname by winning an award. “Challenge of the Year” fight with Michael Chandler Last time of last year. Gaethje (23-3) weighed just 155 pounds in his second game to the undisputed championship and could claim the vacant belt with a victory.

The mainboard of UFC 274 will air Saturday at 10PM ET/7PM PT on ESPN+ pay-per-view. Preliminaries begin at 5:30 PM ET/2:30 pm PT on ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass and continue at 8 PM ET/5pm PT on ESPN and ESPN+.

UFC 274 Weighing Results:

Charles Oliveira (155.5)* vs. Justin Gaethje (155)

rose namajunas (115) vs. carla esparza (115)

Michael Chandler (156) vs. Tony Ferguson (155.5)

Mauricio Rua (205.5) vs. Ovince St.Preux (205)

Donald Cerrone (155.5) vs. Joe Lauzon (155.5)

André Fialho (170.5) vs. Cameron VanCamp (170)

Randy Brown (170.5) vs. Kalinn Williams (170.5)

Macy Chiasson (145.5) vs. normal dumont (146.5)**

Brandon Royval (125.5) vs. Matt Schnell (125.5)

Blagoi Ivanov (253.5) vs. Marcos Rogerio de Lima (258.5)

Danny Roberts (170.5) vs. francisco trinaldo (170.5)

Tracy Cortez (125.5) vs. melissa gatto (125)

Kleydson Rodrigues (125.5) vs. CJ Vergara (126)

Ariane Carnelossi (115.5) vs. Lupita Godinez (115)

Fernando Garcia (135.5) vs. Journey Newson (135.5)

* Oliveira lost 0.5 pounds of weight, was stripped of her title and fined a percentage of her wallet.

** Dumont lost 0.5 pounds of weight and was fined 30% of his wallet.

Visitors comments ( 0 )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.